Tags

, , , , , ,

Dear Readers,

I’m very excited to be writing my first post in my new website. Welcome!

A little about me:

I have always had a passion for creating things, whether taking photos, sewing appliqued pillows for all of my nieces and nephews one Christmas, throwing clay pots on the wheel, batiking a painting the size of a sheet to hang in my room or batiking illustrations for my children’s book on Thailand, to drawing and painting in a variety of mediums.  I took art courses each year while at university, but I came out with a teaching degree rather than an art degree.

Bali-October2007(18) copyP1070653 copy

While teaching overseas in Thailand for 13 years, I finally began a more serious pursuit of drawing and painting while studying with a wonderful painter, by the name of Russel Fadavi.  I worked with Russel for ten years, culminating in two group shows and my first solo exhibition- in a Greek restaurant- in Bangkok. I love the juxtapositions of cultural influences while travelling.  Of course, Vancouver, where I now live, has a wonderful mix of cultures, an aspect of the city that has always made me feel proud to say I live in Vancouver.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAP1090190

I offer group workshops, suitable as an alternative experience for an event such as a special birthday party experience, a group or club who would like to partake in a creative activity together, a spiritual or well-being organization, or as a corporate event.  I also offer individual 6 week courses.

6. Aug 5-Spirit and Motherly Love-120140601_135743Group-3 Diane-3 copyIrina-4 copy Group-4 copy

You could say that I’m an eclectic person, taking a bit from here and a bit from there, and creating a something new in the process.  You can see more of my work on my Facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/MaryanCerinaArtist, until I post more of my work here. I hope you enjoy this website and I hope that it may inspire you to try something new and creative in your life.  More to come very soon.

Warm regards,

Maryan Cerina

My Paintings- large file (4) copyP1070650 copy